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M E M O R A N D U M 

 
TO: CHILDREN’S DIVISION AND CONTRACTED STAFF 
 
FROM:   JULIE LESTER, INTERIM DIRECTOR 
 
SUBJECT: RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT PRACTICE  
 
DISCUSSION: 
 
The purpose of this memorandum is to introduce three (3) forms used for resource 
development, as a result of a case read project in 2017 and in response to Family First 
Legislation, Council on Accreditation (COA), and the Federal Bureau of Investigations 
(FBI). 
 
The Children’s Division conducted a case read exercise of randomly selected Foster and 
Relative resource home case files from February through August 2017.  The purpose of 
the exercise was to determine if consistent best practices are being followed, what kind 
of support Central Office may provide to staff and suggestions from policy specialists to 
provide guidance for improved practice. This memorandum responds to the observed 
case file maintenance and FACES data entry information from this case read. It also 
identifies the trends regarding correct practice as supported by statute, regulation and 
policy which were discovered when the cases were read during calendar year 2017 by 
Central Office staff.  
 
FACES Data Entry 
 
All data including but not limited to dates, names, and other documentation entered in 
FACES must have a supporting document in the file with the same date and information. 
 
Examples include: 
A)  Background checks; 

• Criminal background check from fingerprints dates in FACES must have the 
fingerprint result/letter with same date. 

• Case.net check date in FACES must have the printed page from the Case.net  
web page with the date of the check located on the page. 

• Family Care Safety Registry check date in FACES must have the result letter 
with the same date. 
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• If there are printed Child Abuse and Neglect prior history screen from FACES 
documents in the file due to adverse actions, they must have the same date on 
the document as what was entered in FACES. 

• The printed page from the Missouri State Highway Patrol when doing a sex 
offender check by the resource home’s address, must have the address of the 
residence on the document. 

 
B) The Home Assessment and Re-assessment must have dated signatures of the 
resource parents(s), worker and worker’s supervisor.  The date each individual signed 
the document is the date that is entered in FACES indicating the document was 
reviewed and approved.   
 
C) The begin date of the license cannot be prior to the dates of the Home Assessment 
signatures. 
 
D) Dates of training completion entered in FACES must have a certificate and/or sign-in 
sheet with the same date. 
 
E) FACES data is to be entered timely.  Updates and new information should be entered 
within 48 hours of changes. 
 
There is a resource, FACES Instructions for Resource Licensing and Resource 
Approval, located on the FACES Information page that provides detailed instructions of 
the correct process to enter data in FACES. 
 
Training 
 
All applicants are to complete the Missouri Respite; An Introduction to Missouri Foster 
Care.  The title of this training has been revised; Introduction to Missouri Foster and 
Respite Care Resource Provider Training. 
 
Pre-service training is required for all resource homes to be approved for licensure or 
approval to provide foster care services: 
FH – 27 hours of STARS 
RH – 9 hours of STARS Caregiver Who Knows the Child  
Level A – 27 hours of STARS plus 18 hours of Level A 
Level B – 27 hours of STARs plus 18 hours of Level A plus 9 hours of Level B 
 
MH – medical home – 27 hours of STARS, or 9 hours of STARS for the Caregiver Who 
Know the Child for relative applicants plus specific medical training to meet the needs of 
the foster youth requiring elevated medical needs foster care services. 
 
RS – 2 hours of the Introduction to Missouri Foster and Respite Care Resource Provider 
Training 
RP – 8 hours of Level B Respite Training 
 
A minimum of 30 hours of In-service training is required for a license to be renewal.  
Required in-service trainings include: 
 
Introduction to Missouri Foster and Respite Care Resource Provider Training, V130   
Reasonable and Prudent Parenting Standard, V280   
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Trauma, V215    
Secondhand Smoke Exposure Protection, V113   
Sibling Placement, V804    
Psychotropic Medications, V254    
Laws and Policies, V400    
Healthy Relationships , V803 
Informed Consent, V150 
Orientation to Foster Care Bill of Rights, V160 
 
In some cases, a worker may review a relative resource home training record and 
approve that the relative may be renewed without the required 30 hours of in-service 
training.  However, all licensed homes must complete the required in-service trainings 
listed above. 
 
For data collection and confirmation of trainings completed, it is important to use a 
training code for the type of training completed.  Required trainings have assigned 
codes.  Use of the “other” training codes should be minimal.  For example: 
 

• A resource parent goes to training about grief and loss, the training code V105 
which is labeled separation and grieving should be entered in FACES – not 
“other”. 

• A resource parent completing training to be approved to be contracted to provide 
foster care services for a foster youth with the elevated medical needs goes to a 
training about the diet for a diabetic, the code V253- Nutrition, should be entered 
in FACES – not “other” 

• A resource parent completes training to understand the foster youth in their 
home with the diagnosis of Anorexia, the code V253,- Nutrition, should be 
entered in FACES – not “other”. 

 
Case File Maintenance 
 
Child Welfare Manual Section 5 Chapter 1 Subsection 4 provides the information of what 
sections of information are required in the resource parent case file and the documents 
placed in the file.  This section also provides instruction regarding documentation of case 
narrative and quarterly summaries.  Instruction regarding writing Home Assessments, 
Re-assessments and amendments is located in Section 6 Chapter 3. 
 
The current Foster Family Profile, CD-56, belongs in the front of the file. At each renewal 
a new CD-56 is completed and the obsolete CD-56 is placed in the Family Assessment 
section.  The Foster Family Profile section also contains a current photo of the resource 
family without the foster youth.  It also contains a photo of their home. The photo of the 
home should show a complete picture of the exterior of the home including the address 
of the home. 
 
Forms 
 
Many forms must be completed for a home to be assessed for licensure and to be 
assessed for license renewal.   There are also forms completed on a quarterly basis to 
provide support to the home and monitor the home meets licensing standards. These 
required forms include: 
 

https://dss.mo.gov/cd/info/cwmanual/section5/ch1/sec5ch1sub4.htm
https://dss.mo.gov/cd/info/cwmanual/section6/ch3/sec6ch3index.htm
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CS-42, Foster/Adoptive Foster Care Application  
CS-56, Foster Family Profile 
CD-101, Notification of Hazards 
CD-117, Safe Sleep Practices 
CD-118, Quarterly licensing visit and summary (printed from FACES) 
CD-119, Discipline Agreement 
CD201, Placement Exception Form, if applicable 
CD-108, Resource Acknowledgement Form 
CD-109, Items Viewed for Resource Licensing / Approval 
SS-6, Authorization for Release of Medical/Health Information  
CD-98, Authorization for Release of Non-Medical Records by/to Children’s Division 
CS- 101J, Sanitation Inspection, if applicable 
Well Water Check (Health Department), if applicable 
Fire & Safety Inspection, if applicable 
CD-172, Resource Provider Case File Transfer Checklist, if applicable 
 
Documents to view, not retain in the resource file 
 
It is important to remember there is to be no child-specific form or information placed in 
the resource provider case file. 
 
Forms that must be reviewed and discussed with the resource applicants, but not kept in 
the file include but not limited to: 
 

• Birth certificates 
• Divorce decrees 
• Marriage certificates 
• Military discharge papers 
• Social Security cards 
• Bank statements 
• Tax forms 
• Driver’s license 
• Insurance cards 
• STARS and Caregiver homework, including biographical information 

 
New Forms 
 
In conclusion, three new forms are posted to assist staff with appropriate and efficient 
case file management: 
 

1. Resource Parent Acknowledgment; required form to support that the resource 
parent has been provided vital information and understands expectations.  Items 
on this form include: 

a. Assurances required by the Family First Legislation for foster family home 
licensing standards 

b. Acknowledgement required by the Federal Bureau of Investigations 
regarding privacy rights and fingerprint results 

c. Confirmation of information received required by COA standards 
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2. Items Viewed for Resource Licensing and Resource Approval; required form to 
support that information was viewed by the worker to correctly create a home 
assessment and home re-assessment  

3. Resource Provider Case File Transfer Checklist; required form attached to all 
resource parent files that are transferred to different offices/agencies 

 
 
 
NECESSARY ACTION 
 

1. Review this memorandum with all Children’s Division staff. 
2. Review revised Child Welfare Manual chapters as indicated below. 
3. Review new Children’s Division Forms as indicated below 
4. All questions should be cleared through normal supervisory channels and 

directed to: 
 
PDS CONTACT 
Elizabeth Tattershall 
573-522-1191 
Elizabeth.Tattershall@dss.mo.gov  
 
 

MANAGER CONTACT 
Amy Martin 
573-526-8040  
Amy.L.Martin@dss.mo.gov   
  
 

CHILD WELFARE MANUAL REVISIONS 
Recording Home (Licensing) Records 5.1.4 
Specifics on Documentation in Resource Licensing, 5.2.9 
 
FORMS AND INSTRUCTIONS 
Resource Acknowledgement Form, CD-108 
Items Viewed for Resource Licensing / Approval, CD109 
Resource Provider Case File Transfer Checklist, CD-172 
REFERENCE DOCUMENTS AND RESOURCES 
Section 5 Chapter 1 Subsection 4 
Section 6 Chapter 2  
Section 6 Chapter 3 
RELATED STATUTE AND REGULATION 
13 CSR 35-60 
Section 50731 of P.L. 115-123, Section 471(a)(36)  
 
 
 
 

mailto:Elizabeth.Tattershall@dss.mo.gov
mailto:Amy.L.Martin@dss.mo.gov
https://dss.mo.gov/cd/info/cwmanual/section5/ch1/sec5ch1sub4.htm
https://dss.mo.gov/cd/info/cwmanual/section5/ch2/sec5ch2sub9.htm
http://dssweb/cs/forms/
https://dss.mo.gov/cd/info/cwmanual/section5/ch1/sec5ch1sub4.htm
https://dss.mo.gov/cd/info/cwmanual/section6/ch2/sec6ch2index.htm
https://dss.mo.gov/cd/info/cwmanual/section6/ch3/sec6ch3index.htm
https://www.sos.mo.gov/cmsimages/adrules/csr/current/13csr/13c35-60.pdf
https://www.acf.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/cb/im1802.pdf
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