MEDICAL ASSISTANCE FOR
WORKERS WITH DISABILITIES

Following are the general eligibility
requirements an individual must
meet to qualify for benefits under
the Missouri Medicaid Program for
Workers with Disabilities.

¢ An individual must be
permanently and totally
disabled.

¢ Anindividual must be age 16
through age 64.

¢ Anindividual must be employed.

¢ An individual must be a US
citizen or a permanent resident.

¢ An individual must be a resident
of Missouri and intend to remain
in Missouri.

¢ Anindividual must provide their
Social Security Number or apply
for one.

¢ Anindividual may not have
"available resources" in excess
of $999.99. Available resources
include (but are not limited to)
bank accounts, stocks, bonds,
certificates of deposit, cash,
cash surrender value of life

insurance or prepaid burial, and
certain real or personal property
not in use.

The following assets are not
included in available resources:

[0 Up to $100,000 of assets
held in only your spouse's
name.

[0 One-half of assets held
jointly in the name of both
you and your spouse.

0 The home in which you live.

[0 One vehicle used by the
household. Additional
vehicles may be excluded
depending on use.

[0 Certain Independent Living
Development Accounts
funded with your earnings
while participating in this
program.

[0 Retirement accounts funded
with your earnings while
participating in this program.

[0 Medical expense accounts
set up through your
employer.

[0 Certain Family Development
Accounts.

Gross income must not exceed
$1,846 per month. This amount
will be updated each April. Up
to $8,333.33 of your spouse's

monthly income will be
excluded. Your children's
income will not be included.

¢ Persons with gross income
between $1,108 and $1,846 per
month must pay a premium to
obtain coverage. The amount of
the premium varies from $48 to
$123 per month depending on
the amount of your income. The
income range and premium
amounts will be updated each
April.

WHERE DO | REQUEST
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE FOR
WORKERS WITH DISABILITIES?

You can apply for this assistance
with the local Division of Family
Services office in the county in
which you reside.

HEARING RIGHTS

If you disagree with the decision
concerning your eligibility, you may
request a fair hearing within 90
days of the date of the decision.

If you request a hearing, you may
present your information yourself or
may ask anyone else to assist you.
You have the right to present
witnesses in your behalf and to



guestion witnesses who appear at
the request of the Division of Family
Services.

REPORTING RESPONSIBILITY

You must report any changes in
circumstances within 10 days of
when they happen, no matter what
causes the change. You have a
continuing obligation to report and
cannot wait until you are contacted.
Any information provided is subject
to verification by Federal, State and
Local officials. You may be denied
benefits and/or be subject to
criminal prosecution for knowingly
providing false information.

DISCRIMINATION

You are entitled to fair and equal
treatment regardless of your age,
sex, race, color, handicap, religion,
creed, national origin or political
belief. If you feel you have been
discriminated against, you may file
a complaint under the Civil Rights
Act of 1964 with the Department of
Social Services, Broadway State
Office Building, Jefferson City, MO
65103 or the US Department of
Health and Human Services,
Washington D.C. 20201.

Missouri
Department of Social Services
Division of Family Services
P.O. Box 88
Jefferson City, MO 65103

"AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY /
AFFIRMATIVE ACTION EMPLOYER"
services provided on a nondiscriminatory
basis
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