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M E M O R A N D U M 

 
 

TO:   REGIONAL, EXECUTIVE STAFF, CIRCUIT MANAGERS,  
AND CHILDREN’S DIVISION STAFF 

 
FROM:  TIM DECKER, DIRECTOR 
 
SUBJECT:  MEDICAL RECORDS FEES 
 
DISCUSSION:   
 

The purpose of this memorandum is to inform staff of a change in the maximum 
reimbursement rates for medical records. 
  
The maximum reimbursement rates for paying providers for medical records were 
changed effective February 1, 2014.  The new amounts are: 
 

 A copying fee of $23.38 and 54 cents per page for the cost of supplies and labor 
for copies provided in paper form  

 An additional fee of $21.89 if the records are maintained off-site 
 Copies provided electronically (e.g. disc, fax, email) have a maximum copying 

fee of $23.38 plus 54 cents per page, or $102.46 total, whichever is less 
 Postage to include packaging and delivery cost  

 

Section 191.227 Revised Statutes of Missouri sets a base rate for the maximum costs of 
copying records.  The law requires the Missouri Department of Health and Senior 
Services (DHSS) to determine the new amounts each year. The new rate information is 
available on their website at:  
www.dhss.mo.gov/ProtectingThePublic/FeesMedicalRecords.html. 
 
The following table shows the changes for the handling and copy fees: 
 

Effective Date Handling Fees Copies 

02/01/2003 $15.70 $0.37 

02/01/2004 $16.33 $0.38 

02/01/2005 $17.05 $0.40 

02/01/2006 $17.77 $0.42 

02/01/2007 $18.49 $0.44 

02/01/2008 $19.31 $0.46 

02/01/2009 $20.02 $0.47 
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02/01/2010 $20.65 $0.49 

02/01/2011 $21.36 $0.50 

02/01/2013 $22.82 $0.53 

02/01/2014 $23.38 $0.54 

 
 
When Children’s Division staff request and receive medical records from providers, all 
invoices for payment for those records must be submitted via Payment Request.  
Specific instructions for completing the Payment Request are provided in the FACES 
Financial System Payment Handbook 
(http://dssweb/fsd/administration/fmos/docs/faces_handbook_files.pdf). 
 
Effective immediately, provider charges shall not exceed these maximums for services 
provided on or after February 1, 2014.   
 

NECESSARY ACTION 
1. Review this memorandum with all Children’s Division staff. 
2. Review revised Child Welfare Manual chapters as indicated below. 
3. All questions should be cleared through normal supervisory channels and 

directed to: 
 

PDS CONTACT 
Lori Masek 
573-751-4344 
Lori.Masek@dss.mo.gov 

PROGRAM MANAGER 
Christy Collins 
573-751-9603  
Christy.Collins@dss.mo.gov 
 

CHILD WELFARE MANUAL REVISIONS 
Section 2 Chapter 4 Attachment A SAFE-CARE (Sexual Assault Forensic Examination- 
Child Abuse Resource and Education ) Network  
Section 8 Chapter 7.2  Children’s Treatment Services (CTS) 
 

FORMS AND INSTRUCTIONS   
N/A 

REFERENCE DOCUMENTS AND RESOURCES 
N/A 

RELATED STATUTE 
Section 191.227 RSMo.  

ADMINISTRATIVE RULE 
N/A 

COUNCIL ON ACCREDITATION (COA) STANDARDS 
N/A 
 

CHILD AND FAMILY SERVICES REVIEW (CFSR) 
N/A 

PROTECTIVE FACTORS  
Parental Resilience – N/A 
Social Connections – N/A 
Knowledge of Parenting and Child Development – N/A 
Concrete Support in Times of Need – N/A 

http://dssweb/fsd/administration/fmos/docs/faces_handbook_files.pdf
mailto:Randall.D.McDermit@dss.mo.gov
mailto:Christy.Collins@dss.mo.gov
http://www.dss.mo.gov/cd/info/cwmanual/section2/ch4/sec2ch4attacha.htm
http://www.dss.mo.gov/cd/info/cwmanual/section2/ch4/sec2ch4attacha.htm
http://dss.mo.gov/cd/info/cwmanual/section8/ch7/sec8ch7sub2.htm
http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/c100-199/1910000227.htm


 

 

Social and Emotional Competence of Children – N/A 
 

FACES REQUIREMENTS 
N/A 

 


