
 

 

 
  

 
  

 
    

 
   

 
 
 

          

 
 

      
 

      
 

   
 

 
 

            
     

 
       

        
 
             

     
       
        

     
     

 
          

            
       

  
 

 
 

       
         

         
   

     

 
 

CD20-45 
DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

CHILDREN’S DIVISION 

P. O. BOX 88 

JEFFERSON CITY, MISSOURI 

M E M O R A N D U M 

TO: CHILDREN’S DIVISION AND CONTRACTED STAFF 

FROM: DAVID WOOD, DIRECTOR 

SUBJECT: MEDICAL RECORD FEES 

DISCUSSION: 

The purpose of this memorandum is to inform staff of a change in the maximum 
reimbursement rates for medical records. 

The maximum reimbursement rates for paying providers for medical records were 
changed effective February 1, 2020. The new amounts are: 

• A copying fee of $26.06 and $0.60 cents per page for the cost of supplies and 
labor for copies in paper form 

• An additional fee of $24.40 if records are maintained off-site 
• Copies provided electronically (e.g. disc, fax, email) have a maximum copying 

fee of $114.17 total, whichever is less 
• Postage to include packaging and delivery cost 

Section 191.227 of the Revised Statutes of Missouri sets a base rate for the maximum 
costs of copying records. The law requires the Missouri Department of Health and 
Senior Services (DHSS) to determine the amounts each year. The new rate information 
is available on their website at: 

http://health.mo.gov/atoz/fees.php 

When Children’s Division staff request and receive medical records from providers, all 
invoices for payment for those records must be submitted via Payment Request. 
Specific instructions for completing the Payment Request are provided in the FACES 
Financial System Payment Handbook. 

https://dssintranet.mo.gov/dfas/wp-
content/uploads/sites/26/2020/07/FACESQuickReferenceforPayments.pdf 
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Effective immediately, provider charges shall not exceed these maximums for services 
provided on or after February 1, 2020. 

NECESSARY ACTION 

1. Review this memorandum with all Children’s Division staff. 
2. Review revised Child Welfare Manual chapters as indicated below. 
3. All questions should be cleared through normal supervisory channels and 

directed to: 

PDS CONTACT 
Cari Pointer 
Cari.A.Pointer@dss.mo.gov 

MANAGER CONTACT 
Kara Wilcox 
Kara.B.Wilcox-Bauer@dss.mo.gov 

CHILD WELFARE MANUAL REVISIONS 
Section 8, Chapter 7.2.12 Paying for Medical Records 
https://dssmanuals.mo.gov/child-welfare-manual/section-8-chapter-7-contracted-
services-subsection-2-childrens-treatment-services-cts/ 

FORMS AND INSTRUCTIONS 
NA 

REFERENCE DOCUMENTS AND RESOURCES 
NA 

RELATED STATUTE 
Section 191.227 RSMo. 
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