Federal law (42 U.S.C. 1396r-6) makes Transitional MO HealthNet mandatory for states.
Section 208.151.3 (RSMo 1990) provides for Transitional MO HealthNet as follows: After April 1, 1990, any family receiving aid pursuant to 42 U.S.C. 601 et seq, as amended, in at least three of the six months immediately preceding the month in which such family becomes ineligible for such aid, because of hours of employment or income from the parent/caretaker relative’s employment, remains eligible for medical assistance for six calendar months following the month of ineligibility as long as such family includes a child as provided in 42 U.S.C. 1396r-6. Each family receiving such medical assistance during the entire six-month period described in this section and that meets reporting requirements and income tests established by the division and continues to include a child as provided in 42 U.S.C. 1396r-6 receives medical assistance without a fee for an additional six months. MO HealthNet Division (MHD) may provide by rule the scope of MO HealthNet coverage granted to such families.
Effective February 1, 1999 Missouri began providing two years of extended TXIX coverage to uninsured adults who successfully complete the 12 months of Transitional MO HealthNet (TMH) on or after January 31, 1999. A Medicaid waiver under Section 1115 of the Social Security Act authorizes this coverage.
Effective July 1, 2002 Missouri House Bill 1111 reduced the extended TXIX coverage for uninsured adults to 12 months.
Effective July 1, 2005 Missouri House Bill 11 eliminated the extended TXIX coverage for uninsured adults.
In June of 1999, Missouri began referring to the Medicaid program for all family eligibility groups as MC+.
Effective September 1, 2007, the Missouri Health Improvement act of 2007, Senate Bill 577 changed the name of Missouri Medicaid to MO HealthNet.
Effective April 16, 2015, the federal government approved Public Law 114-10 section 212 which granted a permanent extension of transitional medical assistance.