IM-47 April 21, 2022; IM-140 November 30, 2005
Disqualifications must be imposed timely, regardless of whether the individual is currently active in a SNAP household. Timely is defined as follows.
- For a criminal or court disqualification, within 45 days of the court order/decision, unless the court specifies a disqualification period or specifies the implementation date.
- For an administrative disqualification hearing, the month after the date the household member receives notification of the hearing decision.
- For a waiver of the right to an administrative disqualification hearing, the month after the date the household member receives notification of the waiver.
NOTE: The disqualification must be imposed the first month the Agency is able to affect SNAP benefits. If the SNAP case is active, review the SNAP Payroll Closing dates to make this determination, but the disqualification must start no later than 45 days from the date of the court order/decision.
Refer to the Entering a Sanction or Disqualification user guide for instructions.
Once a disqualification penalty begins, the period of disqualification continues uninterrupted until completed, regardless of whether the SNAP case is active. The disqualification period expires at the end of the specified time, as if the household were still participating.
EXAMPLE: The certification period for Mrs. Howell is from January through June. Mr. Howell is disqualified for 12 months beginning in April. Mrs. Howell does not reapply for SNAP until November and is certified for 6 more months. Mr. Howell’s disqualification lasts through March and he is reinstated for April.
Disqualification penalties remain with the individual regardless of the county or state.
EXAMPLE: Ms. Grant is disqualified for an IPV in Texas. She moves to Missouri and applies for SNAP benefits. Texas verifies Ms. Grant was disqualified in their state. She is ineligible to participate until her disqualification period has ended.