To comply with training/work requirements, ABAWD must meet one or a combination of the following for at least 80 hours per calendar month:
- Paid employment
- Unpaid (volunteer or in-kind)
- Participate in and comply with requirements of a qualified training program. The only qualified training programs are:
- Programs under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA)
- Employment and Training Program known as SkillUP
- The Workforce Investment Boards, through the Missouri Career Centers, partner with Division of Workforce Development (DHEWD) to administer the WIOA Program statewide
- Training programs under the Trade Act of 1974 (DHEWD provides statewide retraining and re-employment services to individuals through the Trade Act of 1974)
- A Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) Adult Education & Literacy Missouri Adult Basic Education (ABE) program (GED/HiSET classes do not meet this requirement)
Verify actual hours the ABAWD worked or participated in a qualified training program during each month.
Example: Use all pay stubs with a pay date in December for the December hours worked computation.
Verify the number of hours of participation in qualified training from documentation or contact with the agency providing the qualified training. Enter comments from the Training/Work Requirements screen recording the verification obtained.
Note: Always review the income screen to determine if hours and/or wages are budgeted properly, and match up with the hours entered on the Training/Work Requirement screen.
If in any month, the number of hours worked in or participated in a qualified training is less than 80 hours, or the ABAWD was not working or in qualified training, the ABAWD has used a non-work month. If the ABAWD has received benefits in three or more non-work months:
- Reject an application if the ABAWD is the only household member
- For multiple member households, reject the ABAWD
- Close the case if the ABAWD is the only household member
- In a multiple member household the ABAWD is no longer eligible
- Enter a claim referral for any overpayment (if applicable)
If the number of hours worked or in qualified training is 80 hours or more per calendar month (averaged), enter comments documenting the participant is complying with the training/work requirement, including place of employment, training program and verification.
Good cause may be claimed when the ABAWD would have worked or participated in qualified training but was absent due to unforeseen circumstances. The ABAWD is considered to have met the training/work requirement if:
- the absence from the qualified training/work is temporary; and
- the individual retains the job/placement in the program.
Good cause shall include circumstances beyond the individual’s control, such as, but not limited to:
- illness of another household member requiring the presence of the member
- a household emergency
- the unavailability of transportation
Good cause applies only when an ABAWD is working or participating in a qualified training program. Good cause does not apply prior to starting work or a qualified training program.