Section 9, Chapter 14 (Federal Regulations)

This chapter focuses on Federal Regulations. Federal laws have a significant impact on how States fund and deliver child protection, child welfare, and adoption programs and services. This section includes publications and resources on Federal laws and policies related to child abuse and neglect, child welfare, and adoption.


CAPTA Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act,


Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing Adoptions Act of 2008 PL110.351


Preventing Sex Trafficking and Strengthening Families Act PL 113-183,


 ASFA Adoption and Safe Families Act




 Social Security Act


 Title IV-B


 Title IV-E

FFPSA, Family First Prevention Services Act

The Family First Prevention Services Act (FFPSA) was enacted in February 2018 as part of the Bipartisan Budget Act of 2018 and is the largest child welfare reform in over a decade. This legislation was built to enhance prevention services, helping children remain safely in their own homes to avoid the traumatic experience being separated from their family. Federal reimbursement will be available to address mental health, substance use disorder treatment, and in-home parenting skills training to help families safely keep their children at home. FFPSA also aims to make sure that children are placed in the least restrictive setting possible, focusing on strengthening the quality of care for all families that are involved in the child welfare system.

States electing to provide the Title IV-E prevention program must submit a five-year Title IV-E prevention plan that must contain information on service description and oversight; evaluation strategy and/or evaluation waiver request; monitoring child safety; consultation and coordination; child welfare workforce support; child workforce training; and prevention caseloads.

Missouri’s five-year Title IV-E prevention plan may be located at